FOOD INTOLERANCE TESTING
Coeliac is an autoimmune disease whereby the immune system reacts with gluten and hinders the absorption of nutrients by the small intestine. It is therefor very important that gluten is removed from the diet completely.
Nowadays, all packaged food in the UK and EU covered by laws on labelling so it is a lot easier to check ingredients for gluten. However, if unsure do not risk it. Look for any mention of wheat, rye, and barley (or combinations of these) as these are all gluten crops. As oats are usually prepared in the same environment as wheat it is advised to avoid these too.
Gluten free products e.g. pasta, bread, bread rolls, crackers, cereals, etc. are now available in most supermarkets and health food stores.
Gluten free grains and cereals: Quinoa, amaranth, polenta, buckwheat, corn, arrowroot, millet, flax, buckwheat, teff, tapioca etc.
Beans, nuts (in their natural form), seeds
Fresh fish, meat and poultry
Fruit and vegetables
Foods to avoid:(unless labelled gluten free)
Barley Rye Oats and Wheat
Triticale (wheat / rye cross)
Breads, cakes, pies etc
Biscuits and crackers
Imitation meat e.g. processed luncheon meat or seafood
Sauces (including soy)
Seasoned rice mixes
Seasoned snack foods e.g. tortilla crisps
Self basting poultry
Soup and soup bases
Vegetables in sauce
Breaded, batter coated or marinated foods
Many pasta sauces, gravies, stocks and condiments (e.g.malt vinegar) contain wheat flour so again check the ingredients.
Try making your own pasta sauces and gravies using cornflour, arrowroot or potato starch.
Gluten free alcohol: Cider, wine, sherry, spirits, port and liqueurs.
Avoid: Beers (gluten free now available) lagers, stouts, and ales.
WHERE TO NOW?